## Minutes of the Founding Meeting of the All Ireland Society for Higher Education Held at University College Cork at 2pm 0n 14 March, 2000-03-15

### Present

Dr Terry Barrett (DIT) Mr Paul Brown (UCD) Ms Linda Carey (QUB) Dr Joan Hanafin (UCC) Ms Sylvia Huntley-Moore (TCD) Dr Miriam Kennedy (UCD) Ms Phil Kenna (DIT) Dr Maeve Lankford (UCC) Mr Martin Leavey (DCU) Mr Brian McCann (UL) Ms Marian McCarthy (UCC) Dr Barry McMullin (DCU) Ms Saranne Magennis (NUIM) Dr Sarah Moore (UL) Dr Grace Neville (UCC) Dr John Panter (TCD) (Chair) Dr Anne Rath (UCC) Dr Norma Ryan (UCC) Dr Manfred Schewe (UCC) Mr Brian Thornburgh (TCD)

#### Constitution

The Meeting considered a Draft Constitution which had been circulated previously. After lengthy debate and after a number of amendments were made, it was resolved:

#### That the Draft Constitution as amended be adopted

The Constitution as adopted is attached to these Minutes

#### **Executive Committee**

In accordance with Clause 4f of the Constitution, the following were elected to the first Executive Committee:

President	Dr Barry McMullin
Vice-President	Dr John Panter
Secretary	Ms Linda Carey
Treasurer	Mr Paul Brown
Members	Dr Terry Barrett
	Ms Carmel Browne (UCG - to be confirmed)
	Dr Joan Hanafin
	Ms Saranne Magennis
	Dr Sarah Moore
	Dr Grace Neville (UCC - to be confirmed)

# Membership Fees

In accordance with Clause 6a of the Constitution, it was resolved:

That the initial Membership Fee be £30 per annum

The Meeting Closed at 4.30pm.